Dear friends of well-intoned instruments,

The third concert on the 16th of November 2019 was dedicated to Johann Sebastian Bach. Prof. Gesa Lücker from the Academy of Music and Dance in Cologne (HfMT) was a guest with her students in the music studio Gabriele Paqué, among them also being Yizhuo Meng who teaches at this venue.

A total of 14 players played alternately from the sheet or even by heart 1 or 2 preludes and fugues from the “Well-tempered Clavier Band II”. Listening to the complete work in a row became a big event for the students, the teacher and of course the audience. There was no time for boredom. This complex work offers the highest demands on the player and the listener, and one never gets tired of listening or learning.
The 24 Preludes and Fugues has J.S. Bach in each case to create a small piece of art. Chromatically up-graded in major and minor, the changing keys offer a variety of different compositional events and styles designed to empower the player to engage in the different characters of the keys and styles of the time.
This is easier said than done. Every prelude and fugue, however, presents the player with an immense task of interpreting the work “correctly” and doing so with technically very high demands. With great instinct, musically informed play of early music (not only Gesa Lücker but also some interested students Prof. Gerald Hambitzer, professor for “Early Music” at the Cologne Academy), as well as musical and technical great preparation, the students of Gesa Lücker played a very impressive concert this afternoon.

These were happy moments of listening to the audience, which rewarded the players with a lot of applause.

Dear music lovers,

I am pleased to welcome again this year the young and highly talented students of the Cologne University of Music by Prof. Gesa Lücker in my rooms. Already in 2015, Prof. Lücker’s class appeared with Volume 1 of the “Well-Tempered Clavier” by Johann Sebastian Bach. Now the time has finally come for Volume 2, which the composer completed between 1740 and 1742!
Look forward to the many interpretations of this wonderful music!

Saturday, 16 November 2019

17:00 pm

Musikstudio & Galerie: Gabriele Paqué
Blücherstraße 14
53115 Bonn


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
The Well-Tempered Clavier II

1. Prelude and Fugue I C major BWV 870

2. Praeludium and Fugue II c minor BWV 871

3. Praeludium and Fugue III C sharp major BWV 872

4. Prelude and Fugue IV in C sharp minor BWV 873

5. Prelude and Fugue V D major BWV 874

6. Prelude and Fugue VI d minor BWV 875

7. Prelude and Fugue VII Es major BWV 876

8. Prelude and Fugue VIII in the Minor BWV 877

9. Prelude and Fugue IX E major BWV 878

10. Prelude and Fugue X and Minor BWV 879

11.Peace Study and Fugue XI F major BWV 880

12. Prelude and Fugue XII for minor BWV 881 Arrangement for one hand by Hochstetter


13. Prelude and Fugue XIII F sharp major BWV 882

14. Prelude and Fugue XIV F sharp minor BWV 883

15. Prelude and Fugue XV G major BWV 884

16. Prelude and Fugue XVI g minor / g minor BWV 885

17. Prelude and Fugue XVII As major BWV 886

18. Prelude and Fugue XVIII in G sharp minor BWV 887

19. Prelude and Fugue XIX A major BWV 888

20. Prelude and Fugue XX a minor BWV 889

21. Prelude and Fugue XXI B major BWV 890

22. Prelude and Fugue XXII b minor BWV 891

23. Prelude and Fugue XXIII H major BWV 892

24. Prelude and Fugue XXIV h Minor / h minor BWV 893

Admission: 10,- €

I am looking forward to your visit!

Gabriele Paqué

Note on parking!
Parking spots in Bonn-Poppelsdorf, about a 10 minutes walk from the Blücherstraße!

Current exhibition: Victor Shtivelberg presents “Watching and Listening”
The gallery is open on Saturdays from 2 – 6 pm.
By appointment, the exhibition can also be visited at other times.
Blücherstr. 14, 53115 Bonn
Telefon: 0228-41076755